Schwartz & Co. Victorious


Winners of the Open Board-a-Match: Diyan Danailov, Jerry Stamatov, Richard Schwartz, David Gold, Michael Bell

The squad headed by Richard Schwartz averaged more than 17 points a session over four sessions to win the Mitchell Open Board-a-Match Teams. Trailing by a board and a half, the James Cayne team finished second.
Playing with Schwartz were David Gold, Michael Bell, Jerry Stamatov and Siyan Danailov. Playing with Cayne were Alan Sontag, Giovanni Donati, Alfredo Versace, Lorenzo Lauria and Mustafa Cem Tokay.

Second in the Mitchell Board-a-Match: Mustafa Cem Tokay, Giovanni Donati, Alfredo Versace, Lorenzo Lauria. Not pictured: James Cayne, Alan Sontag

The Norberto Bocchi-captained team of Antonio Sementa, Giorgio Duboin, Dennis Bilde, Alejandro Bianchedi and Agustin Madala set the pace with a blistering 20 out of the gate in the first qualifying session and led the event going into second final session. They dropped to fourth, however, when they could muster only 12.50 on Monday evening.
Here are the final standings.