2020 Nominees

The ACBL Hall of Fame Committee has announced the nominations of eight members for the class of 2020.
The candidates, all Grand Life Masters, are listed in alphabetical order:

Marty Bergen

Marty Bergen, Palm Beach Gardens FL – 10 North American championsips, including two Reisingers, two Blue Ribbon Pairs, a Spingold and a von Zedtwitz Life Master Pairs, and 10 second-place finishes.

Larry Cohen

Larry Cohen, Delray Beach FL – 35 NABC titles, including five Blue Ribbon Pairs, four Spingolds and three each in the Vanderbilt, Reisinger and von Zedtwitz, and 28 second-place finishes; a silver medal in a World Open Pairs and a bronze in the World Team Olympiad. He was Player of the Year in 2002.

Lynn Deas

Lynn Deas, Schenectady NY – 27 NABC wins, 14 second-place finishes including the von Zedtwitz Life Master Pairs and nine world championships made up of seven Women’s team events (three in the Venice Cup, two in the World Bridge Games [formerly Olympiad], one in the McConnell Cup and one in the SportAccord World Mind Games) and two in Women’s pairs events (World Bridge Series and SportAccord World Mind Games); plus four silver and three bronze medals.

Marty Fleisher

Marty Fleisher, New York NY – eight NABC wins, including two Vanderbilts, a Spingold and the Platinum Pairs, and nine second-place finishes; and a world championship in the 2017 Bermuda Bowl. He was Player of the Year in 2013.

Gaylor Kasle

Gaylor Kasle, Boca Raton FL – 12 NABC titles including a Vanderbilt, 10 second-place finishes, two world championships and a silver and a bronze in senior team events.

Sam Lev

Sam Lev, New York NY – seven NABC wins including two Reisingers and a Vanderbilt, 11 second-place finishes, a gold medal in the mixed teams at the World Team Olympiad and two bronze medals in senior team events.

Ron Smith

Ron Smith, Chicago IL – 10 NABC wins including a Reisinger and a Blue Ribbon Pairs, 15 second-place finishes including three Spingolds, and a bronze medal in senior teams.

Howard Weinstein

Howard Weinstein, Rancho Mirage CA – 10 NABC wins including two Reisingers and a Vanderbilt, 13 second-place finishes including four Reisingers, two silver medals in the 2007 Bermuda Bowl and the 2019 mixed teams and two bronze medals.
Ballots will go out early next year to about 375 electors. Voting ends in February. Induction for those elected will take place at the 2020 Summer NABC in Montreal.