American Contract Bridge League (ACBL)My ACBLShop ACBLResources For About ACBLYouth4Bridge
Your Best Partner in Bridge

News Archive

<< Go back to previous page

ACBL Election News

The recently completed elections for eight positions on the 25-member ACBL Board of Directors bring three new members to the League’s governing body as well as five returning incumbents.

Margot Hennings is the new director for District 6 (Virginia, D.C., eastern Maryland). Hennings of Annandale VA defeated Mike Cappelletti Sr. of Alexandria VA for the District 6 slot. Hennings replaces outgoing director Nadine Wood who served six terms on the Board.

In District 17 (southwestern U.S.), Bonnie Bagley of Colorado Springs CO is the new district director. Bagley defeated incumbent Jerry Fleming of Los Alamos NM. Fleming served four terms and was ACBL President in 2009.

Merlin Vilhauer of Beaverton OR has won election to the District 20 slot (Oregon, Northern California, northern Nevada and Hawaii). Vilhauer defeated Jo Anne Murdock of Yuba City CA for the position held by outgoing two-term director Jeffrey Taylor.

The five returning incumbents are Shirley Seals of District 9 (Florida, Puerto Rico), Bill Cook of District 10 (Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, western and middle Tennessee), A. Beth Reid of District 11 (Kentucky, southern Indiana, southern West Virginia, central and southwestern Ohio), William Arlinghaus of District 12 (lower Michigan, northwestern Ohio), and Al Levy of District 24 (New York City, Long Island).

Seals of Ponte Vedra FL defeated Lisa Berkowitz of Boca Raton FL. Cook, Reid, Arlinghaus and Levy all ran unopposed.

Nine other districts also elected first and second alternates to the Board of Directors: Nick L’Ecuyer (1st) and Leo Weniger (2nd) for District 1; Jan Assini (1st) and Mary Paulone Carns (2nd) for District 5; Mike Kovacich (1st) and Barbara Heller (2nd) for District 7; Angie Clark (1st) for District 13; Marti Malcolm (1st) and Phil Rea (2nd) for District 15; Ken Scott (1st) for District 18; Stephen Hosch (1st) and Jerry Thorpe (2nd) for District 19; William Schreiber (1st) and Roger Clough (2nd) for District 23; and Mark Aquino (1st) for District 25.

The terms for these directors and alternates are three years and run from Jan. 1, 2011, through Dec. 31, 2013.