American Contract Bridge League (ACBL)My ACBLShop ACBLResources For About ACBLYouth4Bridge
Your Best Partner in Bridge

News Archive

<< Go back to previous page

Canada Open Team Upset, But Women Prevail in Playoffs

The Mexican team captained by Gonzalo Herrera, trailing by 48 IMPs with a set to play, staged a huge rally to defeat Canada and win the right to play in the Bermuda Bowl in Sao Paulo, Brazil, starting Aug. 29.

The match took place in Mexico City, where the Canadian women’s team earned a spot in the Venice Cup in Sao Paulo when their Mexican opponents withdrew with a set to go in their playoff, trailing by 118 IMPs.

The final score in the seesaw open teams contest was 282-267 for Mexico, who will send Herrera, Bill Marshall, Enrico Pagani and Mauricio Smid to Sao Paulo. They defeated Nick L'Ecuyer, Kamel Fergani, Darren Wolpert, Jurek Czyzowicz, David Grainger and Daniel Korbel. At one point in the contest, Mexico led by 58 IMPs, but they were down 238-190 with 16 deals to play before their big comeback.

The Canadian women’s team is Pamela Nisbet, Karen Cumpstone, Joan Eaton, Barbara Clinton, Kismet Fung and Susan Culham. Their opponents were Nancy Gerson, Bronia Nosik, Frida Harari, Laura Salinas and Nancy Lira.