American Contract Bridge League (ACBL)My ACBLShop ACBLResources For About ACBLYouth4Bridge
Your Best Partner in Bridge

News Archive

<< Go back to previous page

District 9 Defends Grand National Crown

The District 9 team captained by Mike Becker led from start to finish in scoring a second straight win in the Grand National Teams, Championship Flight, knocking off the District 25 squad led by Frank Merblum 125 74.

The winners, all from Florida, are Becker, Warren Spector, Jeff Meckstroth, Eric Rodwell, David Berkowitz and Larry Cohen.

The runners up are the New England sextet of Merblum, John Stiefel, Lloyd Arvedon, Victor King, Doug Doub and Sheila Gabay.

Other GNT winners:
Flight A: The New York-based District 24 team of James Scott, Harry Apfel, John Ramos, Kelley Hwang, Valentin Carciu, and Sorin Pleacof.
Flight B: The District 23 (Los Angeles area) squad of Joseph Viola, Gerard Geremia, Matt Klimesh and David Kempe.
Flight C: The District 8 team from St. Louis of Thomas O’Reilly Pol, Debbie Romero, Jonathan Goldberg and Sandy Bigg.

See Issue 4 of the Las Vegas Daily Bulletin for more details.