American Contract Bridge League (ACBL)My ACBLShop ACBLResources For About ACBLYouth4Bridge
Your Best Partner in Bridge

News Archive

<< Go back to previous page

2007 Player of the Year

Roy Welland started last year with a bang, winning two events at the Spring NABC in St. Louis. He didn't win another nationally rated event during 2007, but he did well enough to amass more than 736 platinum points, earning the honor as the 2007 Player of the Year. He edged two-time winner Jeff Meckstroth, who finished second.

Welland is a New Yorker who runs a money management company. He was the 1986 winner of the Ace of Clubs competition in the rookie category. He has won all three major ACBL team championships: the Vanderbilt and Spingold Knockout Teams and the Reisinger Board-a-Match Teams.

In St. Louis, Welland and his wife, Christal Henner-Welland, were members of the winning Vanderbilt Team. He and Giorgio Duboin won the Silodor Open Pairs.

The Player of the Year goes to the ACBL member who earns the most masterpoints in nationally rated events with no upper masterpoint restrictions.