After a two-day round robin that eliminated two teams, the four remaining teams start play in the semi-finals today.  Vugraph of the matches will begin at 9:30 a.m. CST on BBO. The four teams competing in the semi-final are: Moss – Sylvia Moss, Janice Seamon-Molson, Lynn Deas, Joann Glasson, Tobi Sokolow, Beth Palmer, npc Michael […]

The listing of the top 50 clubs reporting the most tables for 2014 has been completed and can be viewed here. ACBL is working to create a new listing to recognize our smaller clubs’ growth. We aim to release this in the coming months.  

Lavazza rallies for Vanderbilt victory Winners of the Vanderbilt Trophy: Zia Mahmood, Agustin Madala, Giorgio Duboin and Norberto Bocchi. The team came from behind in the third quarter and pulled away to win 155-110. Vanderbilt runners-up: Eric Greco, Geoff Hampson, Marc Jacobus, Eddie Wold, captain John Diamond and Brian Platnick.   Schwartz cruises in Jacoby […]

The team captained by Donald Rumerhart, leading by just 10 IMPs with a quarter to go, won the final set 58-17 over the Sean Gannon squad to win the NABC 0-10,000 Knockout Teams. The final score was 160-109. Rumelhart, Ann Arbor MI, played with Jonathan Fleischmann, Bloomfield MI; Ned Irving, Hot Springs Village AR; Morrie […]

Pam Granovetter and Yiji Starr, in 28th place when the day started, had big games in the final two sessions of the Smith Life Master Women’s Pairs to win the event by 41.39 matchpoints on a top of 27. Granovetter, a full-time player, and Starr, who is in banking, formed their partnership as opponents. Starr […]

When Robert Levin and Steve Weinstein stepped into the winning circle of the Silodor Open Pairs Friday night, it was their first win playing together in an NABC pair event in 12 years. (They won the World Series Open Champion Open Pairs in 2010.) Positioned well at the start of the day, their 61% afternoon […]

Susan Stubinski and Bruce Wick from Houston TX never faltered on their way to a victory in the Rockwell Mixed Pairs. The married partnership took their fifth place qualifying standing into the final day and turned on the heat with two 58% sessions on Wednesday. They finished almost a board ahead of the pack. The […]

The ACBL Bridge Hall of Fame Committees has selected Audrey Grant to receive the Blackwood Award, given for service to bridge without necessarily being a world-class player. Grant will join Michael Rosenberg, elected earlier this year to the Hall of Fame. In his first year of eligibility, Rosenberg was the only player on the ballot […]

Blake Schwartcbach and Adam Gann, the leaders after two qualifying sessions in the President’s Cup North American Pairs Flight C, fell to second after the first final session but rallied to win by 9.8 matchpoints on a 25 top. Schwartzbach, of Bethesda MD, is a math and science tutor. Gann, who lives in Washington DC, […]

Richard and Andrew Jeng saved the best for last in the Golder North American Pairs Flight B – and it was good enough to earn them a win. The brothers started the day on Monday in seventh place after two qualifying sessions but fell to 13th after the first final session. In the second final […]