Actor, international playboy and avid bridge promoter Omar Sharif died at a Cairo hospital on July 10. The cause of death was a heart attack. He was 83. While Sharif is best known for his Oscar-nominated turn in Lawrence of Arabia and his performance in Doctor Zhivago, his true love was bridge. “Acting is my […]

ACBL’s chief officer, Robert Hartman, was on the Marilu Henner Show yesterday discussing bridge and The Longest Day. To hear the interview click here.

The Milner squad (Reese Milner, Hemant Lall, Bob Hamman, Mark Lair, Zia Mahmood and Michael Rosenberg) defeated the Simson squad (Doug Simson, Jeff Aker, Marc Zwerling, Mark Tolliver, Dennis Clerkin and Jerry Clerkin) in the finals of the Senior USBC. They will compete for the d’Orsi Senior Trophy in Chennai, India September 26-October 10. Simson […]

Henry Bethe, a Grand Life Master from Ithaca NY, died June 7.  He won three North American Championship titles between 1968 and 1991 and the Lou Herman trophy in 1968. Bethe was active in bridge governance as a member of the Board of Governors, president of GNYBA (1989-1991) and president of Unit 112 (1995-1996). A […]

Ten teams are entered in the Senior U.S. Bridge Championship, which starts play today. The two squad that come out on top will earn a chance to compete for the d’Orsi Seniors Trophy – awarded to the senior world team champion – later this year in Chennai, India. The Senior USBC is being hosted by the […]

The 2015 Canadian Bridge Championships concluded on Saturday, May 30. The winners are: CSTC Gold: John Carruthers – Joey Silver – Katie Thorpe – Martin Kirr – Michael Roche – John Rayner Silver: Janet Heino NPC, James Galand – Gerry McCully – Ken Scholes – Peter Herold CNTC A Gold: Daniel Miles – Jeffrey Smith […]

1.Each Unit will be permitted to hold no more than one Progressive Sectional per calendar year. 2. All masterpoint awards for Progressive Sectionals will be based on sectional rating. All masterpoints awarded will be silver. During the qualifying rounds, there will be no overall masterpoint awards in either Pair events or Swiss Teams. During the […]

The Canadian Bridge Federation will take a break from its annual championship week play on Tuesday night to induct two Canadian greats into the Hall of Fame and also to make a special presentation. Hall of Fame inductee John Carruthers has contributed to bridge in a variety of ways: as a player, a writer and […]

To view the new General Convention Chart that went into effect May 1, 2015, click here. The new version has two major changes: The first change is that transfer responses in competition by the Responder (Opening Bidder’s Partner) are now GCC legal. It has been GCC legal for some time to play transfers by the Advancer (Overcall’s […]

The number seven seed, Fireman (Paul Fireman, Gavin Wolpert, Joel Wooldridge, John Hurd, John Kranyak and Vincent Demuy) defeated top-seed Diamond (John Diamond, Brian Platnick, Geoff Hampson, Eric Greco, Kevin Bathurst and Justin Lall) 297-229 in the finals of the USBC to become USA2 for the 2015 Bermuda Bowl in Chennai, India September 26-October 10. […]